Sharing touchy subjects that connections disagree with

One of the best things about an election are people discussing all the various political issues of the day. I have really enjoyed all the dialogues on Facebook and Twitter and I love commenting too, even if I am disagreeing with a friend. I am actually going to miss it. I myself am pretty passionate about politics, but I realize that some people may not connect with what I am saying. or worse, they may feel that this disconnect brings up a question of “do I want to stay friends with this person”?  Should that stop me or you from talking about how we feel?  No, because as many of my Rules of Connection state, you really should be true to yourself and speak passionately about what is in your heart and mind.

Now of course there are better ways to do it. Touchy subjects like politics, religion, and personal hygiene require some basic principles from kindergarten that I am sure we can all remember (no name-calling, listen, take turns, politeness). I have found a few connections in my life who have vastly different politics and values than me, and yet we consider ourselves good friends. Those of you in that group (you know who you are), I applaud you. The true connections can tell the difference with the intentions of what you say and why you say it. They will see the genuine and authentic you.

It takes courage to give an opinion that you KNOW people will not like. But it takes even more courage to accept, acknowledge, and try to understand that different point of view when engaged in a discussion. So please keep sharing! By thinking, reflecting, and sharing, we can all find growth.

Have a great week!

p.s. I have tagged some of you who have shared the last month. Thank you!

4 thoughts on “Sharing touchy subjects that connections disagree with

  1. Your insights are refreshing; very supportive of an individual/group who is growing and shaping their identity, and attempting to create a safe space to foster said growth. In this age of social media dominance where the impact of one’s online footprint can have great consequences–for better or for worse, it is very comforting to know that such progressive conversations are taking place. My observation and personal experience indicates that one can become uncertain about how to exercise self-expression. It is important that individuals/groups know that there is a healthy approach to navigating freedom of speech. There are so many degrees to this topic. Ultimately, I am glad that this forum exists.

    Keep up the great work.

    Respectfully,

    @OnlyMyMusings

  2. Thanks for the lovely response! I am glad to hear that my blogpost resonated but also that it has hit a higher chord with you. I have found it most illuminating to engage in political, spiritual, and religious discussions amongst my facebook friends, who vary across the spectrum. I think having had those diverse friendships has allowed me to develop a broader sense of how to engage. Hope you enjoy reading the other posts. Take care!
    Bobby

  3. Yes! This, and this again! I believe it’s important for those of us with our heads on straight to broach touchy topics even in places they’re considered taboo like the dinner table. If we don’t lead by example, how will the folks that are stuck on talking points and fallacious reasoning ever learn?

  4. Sometimes it’s not about disagreeing with another’s perspective, but calling people out on incorrect, incomplete, and/or biased information. Sometimes it’s not about disagreeing with another person’s passion about what is in their heart and mind, it is about disagreeing with how someone has formed an opinion on a complex subject (example, by watching a 3min YouTube video). We have more access to information that ever before but yet the vast majority are as uninformed as ever.

    I believe that people of integrity (especially those with a large number of followers on social platforms) have a responsibility to “be informed” before they post in an attempt to host a positive discussion…, and yes, provide an opinion, but to not hop on a bandwagon of popular thought without having put the time and effort to get to the real facts, or what led to the discussed situation. Saying, “I will be biased” is not good enough when people of integrity are involved. A bias is not an opinion – it is one-sided a cop out for a lack of understanding of something. Most debates that I see seem to be a battle of “who has the best Google skills” rather than an informed intelligent discussion. When “losing friends” happen, it is not always about the alignment of one’s opinion or position (political or otherwise), but maybe it’s the platform and, for example, the bias it may provide. I don’t believe that it can be summarized that de-friending because of differing opinion, there are many levels to it; at least not for those with enough self-esteem to be able to handle disagreement and for those with a thirst for knowledge that is bigger than their opinion. What results, is that the platform itself evolves further into a congregation of like-minded people with a “ganging up on” the very few who stuck around who may have differing thought – I’ve even seen people resort to attacking the commenter rather than the subject (and I have been a victim of this on a number of occasions – not that I care). Polarized thought never solves anything. The answer lies in the middle and nothing ever gets solved when a platform become polarized.

    None of these comments are directed at you, Bobby, but rather the landscape of social media debates in general.

Leave a Reply

