What is Your Relentless Pursuit? Mine is TEDxToronto

I have always wanted to speak at TEDx Toronto. So every year I applied via their speaker application form. Why? Well there are many reasons.

- I have a message, story, brand and voice that can impact a million hearts.

- I have built a brand around TEDx having spoken at 4 other events.

- TEDx Toronto, for most Canadians, is the biggest and best one in our country. It’s the ‘big show’.

- Many of my colleagues have been able to use the event a platform to greatness in their career, speaking circuit and getting their message out there.

One of my good friends Drew Dudley spoke several years back. He only spent 6 minutes speaking on Lollipop Leadership, but it was momentous. Eventually that talk made it to the TED.com site. Now he has 1.4 million hits and a successful speaking career travelling around the world. His example, like many others I have seen, inspires me.

I have applied a few times and have had the honour of my friends nominating me.  In fact those nominations, along with Drew’s talk was around the first time I was introduced to the power of TED talks. 3 times the charm? Not really, but hey I have always been one to embrace failure. At least I have been able to go to these events as a delegate and share my ideas and use my social media influence to promote and support the others.

Last year I thought the theme was PERFECT for me: ”The Choices We Make’. I mean I have made some pretty ballsy and hard choices about my career, my family, my personal life, where I live, my business and much more. This year the theme is ‘Relentless Pursuits’. Oh man I love it too! Well that one also fits very nicely. Although it should fit nicely with all of us. You’ve heard me say often “Fight for your Life! If not you, then who? If not now, then when?”

What have I relentlessly pursued? The same things I mentioned above. The new thing I have been pursuing these days is health and wellness with my new #FitInMyLife campaign. Because I do want to be fit in my life and health living needs to fit in my life.  I also am relentless with creating deep authentic connection and helping the ‘lost leaders’ with my personal Why. But today, I want to say my main Relentless Pursuit is speaking at TEDxToronto. Part of that relentless pursuit has been speaking at 4 other TEDx events — TEDxUWO, TEDxLaurier (I hosted too), TEDxUTSC and TEDxRichmondHill. Another part of this relentless pursuit is asking for your help.

I am currently working on getting myself nominated for the next TEDx Toronto event! I will apply again, like I did the past few years. I am excited to share talk ideas on a few ideas such as ‘The Pursuit of Balance”, “Searching for the Best Hug” and “Fighting the Parent Values Gap to not become the Values Trap” and many more.

But this time I need your help. If my messages, talks, connection or work has ever inspired you, helped you, supported you, I would be honoured and grateful if you could consider nominating me via the link here. For everyone who isn’t familiar with my work — I am a 4 time TEDx speaker, author and contributor to the Huffington Post. My personal Why is “There are Lost Leaders Everywhere” and my Mission is to “Discover, Inspire and Develop Leadership in Gen X&Y. Much of my work is giving back, whether its through my Raeallan intern team, starting up Humans of Canada, or planning the large scale Discover Your Personal Brand conference on Aug 16. I do it because YOU are my Why, my Mission, my Vision.

I thoroughly enjoy public speaking and motivating young people and hope to continue to do it for as long as I can. If you guys would like to help me continue my passion and serving others please nominate me here. The deadline is June 30, so I apologize for the short notice. Luckily the form is pretty short.

Also, here are two of my past TEDx talk I have done to give you an idea what I am all about. What is interesting to see is how I have evolved as a speaker, even from 2011 to 2013. Thank for your time!

TEDx Talk 1: “The 5 C’s of Connection”

TEDx Talk 4: “School: Learning to Fly as a Leader”

As always, please let me know how I can help you. Because I can and I will.

Take care, Bobby

 

3 thoughts on “What is Your Relentless Pursuit? Mine is TEDxToronto

Leave a Reply

